How to get started with G Suite shared drives

How to get started with G Suite shared drives


Use shared drives to retailer and share documents with your workforce to assure obtain to objects about time–even if crew membership variations.

Illustration: Andy Wolber/TechRepublic

If you use G Suite, it helps to know that Google gives you two subtly various types of drives. Very first, there is certainly the typical Google Push My Travel that outlets information you generate, upload, or can accessibility. But there’s also the newer Google Drive Shared Drives that maintain information offered to shared generate users.

What is actually Scorching at TechRepublic

A shared generate lets people today upload and collaborate on documents in the cloud, fairly than preserving documents on a nearby server or generate. In this article are a couple recommendations to help you and your group get began with Google Push shared drives.

Note: The subsequent measures and illustrations assume you use Chrome on a laptop or desktop to produce and function with Shared Drives. You’ll need to use G Suite Enterprise, Business, Education and learning, Nonprofit, or Essentials edition, with an account for which an administrator has enabled shared drives.

SEE: Google Sheets: Ideas and methods (TechRepublic obtain) 

How to generate a shared travel

For your initial shared generate, you may well start with a single both for a lot of people today or for a certain crew. A shared push for a team of people today who regularly collaborate on Docs, Sheets, or Slides makes a excellent offer of feeling. Similarly, a shared travel that contains information numerous folks need, this sort of as types, guides, or policies, might also be handy.

To produce a new shared travel (Figure A):
1. In Chrome on your computer, go to https://drive.google.com.
2. Select Shared Drives (from the left-aspect menu).
3. Choose +New.
4. Enter a identify for your new shared drive, then select Develop.

Determine A

Screenshot with arrows that point to Shared Drives (upper left), New (upper left, above the available drives), and New shared drive name field (center of screen, with text box for name entry) and Create button.

If you use a G Suite edition that has shared drives enabled, decide on Shared drives (still left menu), then +New to build a shared generate, then enter the name for your new shared push.

New documents are your files on My Travel

When you open up Chrome and form doc.new wherever you would generally style a internet handle, the technique produces a new Google Doc. By default, this Doc is non-public and obtainable only to you. Right after you make any edits, the procedure shops the file on Google Drive in your key My Generate listing. 

If you choose the blue Share button (in the upper-appropriate), you may perhaps give access to the Doc to other people today. Irrespective of regardless of whether you permit other persons edit, remark, or perspective the Doc, you continue being the owner–it is really your document.

How to shift or upload a file to a shared drive

When you transfer or add a file to a shared push file ownership modifications: The shared drive will become the “proprietor” of the file. This means that as shared generate membership variations (e.g., as staff modify roles or as various people today join or depart), the set of information on the shared push stays unchanged. That’s contrary to your documents on Google Push My Generate, which remain owned by you until finally both you or a G Suite administrator transfer possession to a further account.

This is 1 way to go a file from My Push to a shared drive:
1. In Chrome on your laptop or computer, go to https://generate.google.com.
2. Navigate to an item on My Generate, then solitary-click on or tap on it to select it.
3. Find the 3-dot menu (to the ideal of the trash can icon).
4. Pick out Transfer To.
5. Pick the back again arrow right up until Shared Drives displays.
6. Decide on Shared Drives, then pick the shared travel to which you want to shift your file. 
7. If you like, equally navigate to a particular folder on a shared generate.
8. When your desired vacation spot displays, pick out possibly Shift Right here (or Move).

How to handle shared generate users

What you or other persons may do with information on a shared push is dependent on every person’s member accessibility stage. When you build a new shared push, the procedure recognizes you as the Supervisor of that push. As Supervisor, you might “Control written content, people today, and options,” which means you can management who has entry to the shared drive, as well as what each and every human being may possibly do with goods saved on the shared generate (Determine B). 

Figure B

Screenshot of Shared Drive add member screen, with the 5 access levels displayed (Viewer, Commenter, Contributor, Content manager, and Manager).

A Supervisor of a shared push may well regulate associates and entry concentrations. If you’re not absolutely sure which access level to give a individual, I counsel Contributor, which lets individuals include and edit data files on the shared travel and, importantly, also stops the person from shifting or deleting data files.

A Supervisor may perhaps give persons and teams accessibility to a shared generate. Note: There are a few limits on the greatest number of accounts that you may well include to a shared travel. See Google’s Shared drive limits support page for information.

To control associates on a shared travel:
1. In Chrome on your personal computer, go to https://drive.google.com.
2. Pick out Shared Drives (from the still left-side menu).
3. Select the preferred shared generate.
4. Select Regulate Customers (in the higher-suitable).
5. Increase persons and teams or modify access levels of any latest associates.
6. Decide on Carried out when finish.

Now, you may perhaps choose from 5 unique entry amounts for a shared drive. Each and every amount gains all of the qualities of the concentrations earlier mentioned it. In increasing get of accessibility, the levels are:

  • Viewer
  • Commenter: Allows people comment on material
  • Contributor: Permits folks increase and edit information
  • Material Manager: Enables folks to shift and delete files
  • Supervisor: Has entire administrative handle around the shared drive

In quite a few conditions, the most frequent role to assign for a shared generate member will be Contributor. This enables persons to increase or edit files on a shared travel, and also helps prevent a human being from deleting articles. If you’re not sure what level of entry to give a particular person on a shared generate, start off with Contributor.

You will probably want to lessen the variety of individuals with Information Supervisor or Supervisor entry. Make confident that any people with these roles recognize that their variations may possibly impact anyone. A Written content Manager may well insert, move, or delete items on a shared travel, which suggests they can appreciably adjust your file and folder composition. And a Supervisor might make any adjustments necessary to a shared travel. 

The most restricted obtain stages, Commenter and Viewer, permit you give individuals accessibility to files, but with out the means to do a great deal with these information. These levels of entry effectively let people glimpse (Viewer) or react (Commenter) to information, without having any probability they can alter the articles. Use these accessibility levels for individuals who are not always main collaborating users of your workforce.

What’s your knowledge?

If you use G Suite and Google Generate, how does your group get the job done with data files on My Travel and Shared Drives? Have shared drives assisted you entire a shift from regional storage to Google Push? Let me know what your encounter with Google Travel Shared Drives has been, both in the responses under or on Twitter (@awolber).

Also see





Supply website link